



The 26th Baltic Sea Parliamentary Conference 3 - 5 September 2017, Hamburg

Innovative Science, Sustainable Tourism – Participation and Cooperation in the Baltic Sea Region

Sunday, 3 September

10:00 - 12:00	Meeting of the BSPC Drafting Committee (members only) Room 151, Town Hall
12:30 - 14:00	Meeting of the BSPC Standing Committee (members only) Room 151, Town Hall
13:15	Departure from the Town Hall by bus Excursion I – Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron Research Center
14:00	Departure from the Town Hall by bus Excursion II – Harbour boat trip
18:30	Reception and Dinner hosted by Ms Carola Veit, President of the Hamburg Parliament Town Hall
	Honorary Guest: H. E. Sigmar Gabriel. Minister of Foreign

Honorary Guest: **H. E. Sigmar Gabriel**, Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Federal Republic of Germany

Monday, 4 September

09:30 **Opening**

Ms Carola Veit, MP, Hamburg, President of the BSPC

Welcome by Mr Olaf Scholz

First Mayor of the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg

10:00 FIRST SESSION

Cooperation in the Baltic Sea Region

Chaired by: Jörgen Pettersson, MP, Åland, Vice-President of the BSPC, and Valentina Pivnenko, MP, Russian Federation

Report from the Council of the Baltic Sea States (CBSS)

- **Mr Guðmundur Árni Stefánsson**, Outgoing CBSS Chair, Committee of Senior Officials, Ambassador of Iceland
- Mr Hans Olsson, Chairman of the Committee of Senior Officials, Ambassador of Sweden

Prof Jānis Vucāns – "Implementation of the 25th BSPC Resolution"

Briefings from **BSPC Rapporteurs**

- Jörgen Pettersson on Integrated Maritime Policy
- **Sonja Mandt** on Cultural Affairs
- Franz Thönnes on the Baltic Sea Labour Forum

Debate

11:30 subsequently

Family Photo

Exhibition Opening "Finland 100 Anniversary Exhibition"

12:30 SECOND SESSION

Democratic Participation & the Digital Age

Moderated by: Carola Veit, MP, Hamburg, President of the BSPC

Prof Jobst Fiedler, Professor of Public and Financial Management, Hertie School of Governance – "Democracy at a Crossroads – Rebuilding Trust through Participation"

Alexander Shishlov, Human Rights Ombudsman for Saint Petersburg - "Digital Age Challenges to Human Rights and Democracy"

Roundtable:

- Veiko Spolītis, MP, Latvia
- Valentina Pivnenko, MP, Russian Federation

- **Alexander Shishlov**, Human Rights Ombudsman for Saint Petersburg
- **Prof Jobst Fiedler**, Professor of Public and Financial Management, Hertie School of Governance
- Frank Rieger, Speaker of Chaos Computer Club
- **Espen Krogh**, Nordic Council Youth President

Debate

15:00 THIRD SESSION

Science and Research

Chaired by: Prof Jānis Vucāns, MP, Latvia, Vice-President of the BSPC, and Prof Aadu Must, MP, Baltic Assembly

Monika Stankiewicz, HELCOM Executive Secretary – "State of the Baltic Sea 2017 – in the present and in the future"

Maira Mora, Director General of the Permanent International Secretariat of the Council of the Baltic Sea States – "Science and Research policy in the Baltic Sea Region and the Baltic Science Network"

Prof Ulrich Bathmann, Leibniz Institute for Baltic Sea Research – "Evidence-based Environmental Management"

Jari Haapala, Finnish Meteorological Institute – "Utility of Regional Climate Models for the Baltic Sea Region"

Prof Robert Feidenhans'l, Director European XFEL – "European X-ray – A new research facility at the forefront of Science"

Debate

Tuesday, 5 September

09:30 FOURTH SESSION

Sustainable Tourism

Chaired by: Pyry Niemi, MP, Sweden, and

Dorota Arciszewska-Mielewczyk, MP, Poland (tbc)

Sara Kemetter, BSPC Working Group Vice-Chairperson – "Final report from the BSPC Working Group on Sustainable Tourism"

Friederike Schick and **Elias Lindström**, Baltic Sea Parliamentary Youth Forum – "Reporting back to Plenary: Developing Sustainable Tourism"

Dr Monika Griefahn, Chief Sustainability Officer AIDA Cruises – "Sustainability at AIDA Cruises"

Alexandr Sirchenko, Vice-Director General on the Development on Internal Tourism, TUI Russia

Arild Molstad, Author and Journalist, Advisor on conservation and sustainable tourism to international institutions, Norway – "The Paris Climate Agreement and tourism: A Roadmap for the future"

Michael Otremba, Managing Director Hamburg Tourismus GmbH – "Sustainable Tourism in Cities. The permission to grow?"

Debate

11:30 NEW BSPC WORKING GROUP

Migration & Integration

Chaired by: Franz Thönnes, MP, Germany, and Per Rune Henriksen, MP, Norway

Pedro Roque, President of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Mediterranean

Isabel Santos, Vice-Chair of the OSCE PA ad hoc Committee on Migration and OSCE PA Vice-President – "For a Coherent, Shared and Responsible Governance of Migration and Refugee Flows"

Debate

12:00 CLOSING OF THE 26th BSPC

Chair: Ms Carola Veit, MP, Hamburg, President of the BSPC Vice-Chair: Mr Jörgen Pettersson, Åland, Vice-President of the BSPC

- Administrative matters
- Adoption of the Conference Resolution
- Address by the **incoming President** of the BSPC 2017-2018
- Presentation of Next Year's Host Country